The 40th annual Peerless Rockville awards ceremony, held Nov. 15 at Lakewood Country Club, recognized efforts to preserve Rockville’s historic and architectural character. This year’s honorees were:

  • John Williams and Gail Monahan (owners), Jeff Broadhurst (architect), Bill Schweinsberg (contractor) and Al Delancy and Jim Warner (carpenters) for the rehabilitation/renovation and stewardship of a historic property at 103 S. Washington St.
  • Max and Mary Van Balgooy, for landscaping at 313 Twinbrook Parkway.
  • Rockville Cemetery Association, Burt Hall, president, and Elise Polydoroff, director, for landscaping, stewardship and sustainable design at Rockville Cemetery, 1350 Baltimore Road.
  • Posthumous recognition of Warren Crutchfield for his lifetime of preservation advocacy, promotion of community history and stewardship of historic properties, including Haiti Cemetery. To learn more about Crutchfield’s efforts, visit and search “Haiti Cemetery.”
  • Jamie Kuhns, author; Joey Lampl, a cultural resources manager and Kuhns’ supervisor; museum manager Shirl Spicer; and museum educator Lisa MacLeman; all of Montgomery Parks, who received the Wagman Award, for Kuhn’s book “Sharp Flashes of Lightning Come from Dark Clouds: The Life of Josiah Henson.” Named for Arthur M. Wagman, a Peerless Rockville founder, the award honors outstanding achievements by writers, educators, historians and others whose work has heightened public awareness of Rockville’s heritage.

Peerless Rockville is an award-winning, community-based nonprofit founded in 1974 to preserve buildings, objects and information important to Rockville’s heritage.

Learn more at or call 301-762-0096.